Tags

, ,

Bonterra 2004 Cabernet Sauvignon - Organically Grown Grapes
(Mendocino County)

I picked this up at Airport Liquors in Orlando for $18.99.  Given the proximity to the airport with virtually no other wine options, the price was slightly above the going rate for this wine.

Bonterra is one of the largest (if not the largest) organic wine operations in the United States.   The Bonterra Ranch is 378-acre vineyard in Mendocino County, CA is certified organic by the California Certified Organic Farmers organization.

Bonterra Cabernet Sauvignon 2004

13.9% alcohol, real cork closure

Blend of Cabernet Sauvignon (84%), Syrah (9%), Petite Sirah (5%), Merlot (2%).

I found this wine very juicy with loads of blueberries.  Since I’m a big fan of the blue berry I immediately favored this wine despite the small flaws.  I’m easy and can be bought, so the blueberry aromas and flavor really worked for me.  I also picked up over ripe plum (the real purple squishy type).  Good tannins and a slight earthy component.  Overall, lots of dark fruit on the nose and in the mouth and muted oak. 

Bonterra released a whopping 46,000 cases of this juice – that’s a lot of organic grapes.

I paired this with a hotel burger and the Vice Presidential debate.

