Tags

, , , , , ,

While I am an equal opportunity year round drinker in terms of varieties and wine styles, I do find myself gravitating to more robust wines as the heat and humidity of summer yields to the cooler temperatures of fall.

MontesAlpha12Merlot

As the calendar turns from August to September to October, white wines like Chenin Blanc from France’s Loire Valley, and light reds like Cru Beaujolais and Merlot (Yes, Merlot!) tend to replace crisp whites and Rosés on our table. 

My friends at Snooth recently asked a group of writers to share their favorite ‘summer  to fall transition wines’ under $20.  I selected one of my favorite recent Merlot finds from a producer and region that continues to offer fantastic, quality wines — Chile’s Montes Alpha.  

Read my review of the Montes Alpha 2012 Merlot and the full article here.

The change of seasons is a great reason to get reacquainted with this oft-overlooked noble grape that serves as the base for many of the most notable wines of Bordeaux and is bringing serious value from around the world.

See tomorrow’s post; ‘Consider American Merlot.’

(photo credit: Montes Alpha, monteswines.com)

________________________