Tags

,

June 29, 2011, 6:40pm
Chesapeake, VA

If not for that ‘ting‘ sound a glass makes when lightly tapped with a piece of silverware, which I use for iCal reminders, this blog’s 3rd birthday would likely have been forgotten.  I will use the new baby excuse as the reason for my memory lapse.  As most every parent has experienced, new babies tend to cause the singular priority phenomenon along with bouts of indifference for anything non-baby related  (in addition to bringing lot of joy and love in to a parent’s lives).

photo credit: PinkCakeBox.com

Hat tip to Apple iCal for the reminder – three years ago today I started this wine blog with this post on June 29, 2008.  I typed the post early in the day on June 29, but believe I actually posted on June 30th.

I won’t ramble on too long because my ‘diaper changing and rocking chair‘ shift starts in 15 minutes, and I’m not sure if anyone – other than my mom and a few nosey co-workers😉 – actually reads this blog.

Although not always evident from my postings here, I’ve learned a lot about the infinite subject of wine since my first post three years ago.  Aside from the basic knowledge and vernacular one picks up by default through the normal course of wine blogging ‘bidness, I’ve expanded my palate by trying many new wines that I otherwise would not have tried, made many new friends, and I’ve gained a true appreciation for the wines of Virginia and the passionate people behind the vines.

Prior to starting this blog, my wine racks were dominated by Oregon Pinot Noir (via the awesome Oregon Pinot Noir Club) and many odds & ends from trips to Napa and Sonoma.  Today, because of learning from and interacting with other bloggers around the US and throughout the world, the bottles on my racks are as diverse as a United Colors of Benetton ad.

Most notably, I’ve been fortunate enough to meet a lot of great wine folks and am grateful for all of the friends I’ve made and conversations shared over a glass of wine.

Thanks to all of you who read, comment, and put up with me at various wine events – cheers!

The Virginia Wine Crew... just of the friends I've made the last three years...

 

__________________________________

Questions, Comments, Complaints, Random Observations? Contact Me Here

__________________________________