Tags

, , ,

This post marks my first video entry – in this inaugural video I feature the St. Supery 2004 Cabernet Sauvignon in a comparative stemware tasting featuring six different glasses.

If you have trouble viewing this video, please try this direct link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abZzUDl6Ieg

From this tasting, it’s clear that stemware does make a significant difference in terms of aroma profile, flavor, and characteristics of wine.  Featured in this video was the Riedel Vivant Pinot Noir glass and Riedel Bordeaux Grand Cru glass.

St. Supery Vineyards and Winery, located in Napa, CA, is owned by the Skalli family, who have made wine in France for several generations.  The origins of St. Supery date back to the 1970s when Robert Skalli visited the Napa area and was inspired to start a winery in the Valley.  Today, some 40 years leater, St. Supery has 500 acres under vine – specializing in Bordeaux varietals.  Although I’ve had many St. Supery wines, I’ve never had the chance to visit the winery.  My wife and I stopped by their tasting room in Rutherford during our last trip in March, but missed them by 30 minutes – will definitely plan to visit during the next trip.

* My apologies to St. Supery for using your wine in this first video laden with poor sound quality, too many ‘ums’ and disorganization.😉