Tags

, , , ,

It’s anniversary weekend here at the Morgan’s.  I’m very proud of the fact that my wife and I met in high school and have been together ever since.  As part of our Anniversary weekend, we had dinner at Zoe’s in Virginia Beach.

To pair with our meal (veal chops for me), we went with a bottle of Brickhouse 2007 Pinot Noir.  I’ve had a lot of Willamette Valley Pinot’s, and the more I drink, the more I appreciate the pure flavors in the Brickhouse wines.

Brickhouse was started by former CBS news guy Doug Tunnel, and is located in a sub-appellation of the Willamette Valley called Ribbon Ridge AVA.  Brickhouse has been ‘organic’ since the first vines were planted in 1990, and Biodynamic (Demeter Certified) since 2005.

Brickhouse ‘Cuvee du Tonnelier’ 2007 Pinot Noir – $39.95/bottle in a retail store, but we got to pay restaurant price of $85.  Cuvee du Tonnelier can be loosely translated in to ‘Barrelmaker’s Batch’ – is the ‘finest expression’ of Brickhouses estate vineyards.  The aromas are pure and clean flavors of raspberry, cherry, violets, light spice and mushroom throughout.  Excellent balance. Damn good – BurgHeads will really like this one.

As a sidenote, Brickhouse also produces a Gamay Noir, which would make a great participant in Wine Blogging Wednesday 68 – Got Gamay?

__________________________________