Tags

, , ,

Disclaimer: I received this wine as a sample from Tom Eddy Winery.

A few night’s ago I participated in the California Cabernet (#CaliCab) live Twitter tasting organized by Rick Bakas, Social Media Director at St. Supery Winery.  The primary objective of the CaliCab event was to promote California Cabernet producers and their respective AVAs.   My goal was to learn more about other California Cabernets that I had not yet tried.

The Twitterverse came out in a big way to support this tasting event with nearly 2,000 tweets from 172 different Twitterers (not sure that’s an acceptable term in the Social Media dictionary).

My CaliCab for the evening… the Tom Eddy 2003 Cab.  $80/bottle.

At the request of the winery, I opened this bottle the night before, had a glass, and recorked it to let it sit out overnight.  The first night this Cab was definitely wound tight, but was super expressive the night of CaliCab event.

Quick Review:  Damn good Cab!  I must admit that I have, as of late, fallen out of favor with California Cabernet, but this beauty has rekindled the spark for Cabernet.

Tom Eddy 2003 Cabernet Sauvignon $80/bottle retail.  Just over 500 cases produced.  The nose is full of pure dark fruit – blueberry, over ripe plum, blackberry – that effortlessly carries forward to the palate with great purity.  Like dark fruit infused with silk. The finish seems to just hang around with hints of dark fruit and light spice…  I picked up pungent cedar aromas in the glass after the wine was gone, but not in the wine.

This is one of the few wines that my wife weighed in on with a strong opinion – her first reaction was “tastes expensive, very smooth…”.  Smooth indeed.

At 80 quid a bottle, this isn’t a Tuesday night wine, but would make a great bottle for that special occasion along with a charcoal grilled steak (please people, do not gas grill your steaks).

Thank you to Tom Eddy wines for providing this excellent wine for the evening’s event, and a virtual hat tip to Rick Bakas for putting this event together.  I hope to stop by both Tom Eddy and St. Supery during my trip out to Napa in March.

____________________________