Tags

, , ,

As part of my weekly ritual, I had a layover at Dulles airport last night, which meant a quick stop by Vino Volo Wine Bar for cheese and a glass of wine.

Ribera Del DueroI continued working my way through Vino Volo’s Spanish flight this week, and went with a glass of Ribera Del Duero.  I can’t remember the last time I had a Ribera Del Duero, but man this one was really good (aside from the two huge clumps of sediment in my glass).

How do you say Vino Volo is getting a little sloppy in Spanish?  (I visit a Vino Volo about once a week and man they are all over the place in terms of quality these days.)

Bodegas Bohórquez 2005 Estate Tempranillo/Cabernet Sauvignon  Purple in the glass, this wine had a nose of baked blackberries, mocha, and plum/vanilla crème.  Firm tannins in the mouth with abundant flavors of more baked dark fruit and a tad too much oak.  I picked up secondary flavors of strawberries and raspberries on the finish (weird, I know, but the red fruits were there).  Overall, I really liked this wine – makes me want to drink more drink more Ribera Del Duero. 

On the downside, this wine was $18/glass, which I feel is a bit on the high end.  Paying 18 bucks a glass, I was worried that I was an unsuspecting participant in Punk’d Wine Bar edition.

I’m curious what Ribera’s others are drinking?

_____________________________