Tags

, ,

As part of my trip to Sonoma to attend the Wine Bloggers Conference , I had the occasion to finally visit Gundlach-Bunschu winery (pronounced Gun-Lock-Bun-Shoe).  Or, simply called Gun Bun for short.  I’ve driven past Gun Bun dozens of times during previous trips and have always intended on stopping by for a tasting visit, but just never got around to it. 

Since I planned to be in the Sonoma area for nine days during this past trip as part of the WBC, I had Gun Bun on my list of places to definitely visit once the WBC festivities were over.  As it turned out, Gun Bun’s Marketing Director was at one of the WBC tasting events so I took our meeting as an opportunity to setup a tour and tasting appointment later that following week. 

I arrived at Gun Bun on an ideal summer day – sunny, 85 degrees, and a packed tasting room.  Thankfully, Megan, Gun Bun’s Hospitality Manager, was on hand to provide a personal tour and tasting experience.  The tour started with a brief history of the winery – Gundlach-Bundschu has been in operation for just over 150 years and six generations, and is currently the oldest family owned winery in California.

The first stop on the tour was the Gun Bun cave.  

Gun Bun CaveGun Bun Cave 2

The grounds at Gun Bun are picturesque, with an amphitheater used for concerts and movies, a spacious patio for relaxing with Gun Bun wines, and a mural that greets visitors as they drive up to the tasting room.

Mural at Gun Bun

With approximately 320 acres currently under vine, Gun Bun produces 35,000 cases per year.  Vineyards are sustainably farmed and are working towards eventual organic certification.

Although I enjoyed each of the eight Gun Bun wines that I tasted during my visit, the 2008 Gewürztraminer was the standout for me.  Bright gold in the glass, this wine has a lively and fresh nose of orange spritz, lemon, apricot and spice.  In the mouth it is full of citrus and honeysuckle with a baking spice component that continues on the finish.  Dry, well balanced.  100% Gewürztraminer, made from estate grown fruit.  14.4% alcohol.  Just 2,450 of this wine were produced.  I paid ~ $20 for this one at the winery. 

Gun Bun Gwertz

If you’re in the Sonoma area, be sure to include Gun Bun on your list of places to visit!   To keep up with happenings at Gundlach-Bundschu, be sure to visit their blog at http://www.blogschu.com/.

__________________________