Tags

, , , ,

I concluded my two-week trip to Seattle last night with a visit to the Vino Volo wine bar in Sea-Tac airport.   I took advantage of the wide selection of Washington and Oregon offerings that are not available at other Vino Volo locations, and not widely distributed here in Virginia. 

One of my favorite Willamette Valley producers, Bergstrom Wines, was on the list so I went with a glass of their 2007 Cumberland Reserve Pinot Noir.   Since 2007 was a very difficult year for Pinot in the Willamette Valley, I was hesitant to pay $17/glass for this wine, but knew that if anyone in the Valley could produce an excellent wine in a difficult year, it would be Josh Bergstrom.

Bergstrom Pinot 

The Bergstrom tasting room was on my list of places to visit during my Willamette Valley trip last weekend, but my time in the Valley was shortened due to the insane amount of traffic on I-5 between Seattle and Portland, so I unfortunately did not make it to Bergstrom.

Bergstrom is a true family business, including winemaker Josh Bergstrom, his father and four siblings.  The winery has three Biodynamic certified estate vineyards covering 40 acres which stretch across two appellations in the Willamette Valley.  Bergstrom produces a total of 10,000 cases per year, which includes Pinot Noir, Riesling and Chardonnay (sadly, I’ve never had their Riesling and Chardonnay).

Bergstrom 2007 Cumberland Reserve Pinot Noir   –  Definitely an Oregon Pinot.  Nice ruby color in the glass, with aromas of espresso, damp earth, cherry and a little funk (which I dig).  In the mouth, a cherry cola flavor jumped out at me along with chocolate dust, ripe cherry and even some raspberry. Nice acids mingled well with the cherry finish.  A pleasure to drink once it opens up.  5,500 cases made 
The retail price is $45 per bottle.  A solid effort in a difficult year.

______________________________