Tags

,

It’s hard to believe that the Wine Bloggers Conference is just a few days away.   Since we only had a few days in Napa during our last trip in February, my wife and I are making a vacation out of this trip and staying a week after the conference to veg out, drink lots of wine, eat lots of fattening food and do little else.  The downside of taking a 10 day vacation is the glut of work to do before leaving.  Since my job seems to be getting in the way of my extracurricular activities, I am quite behind on posts – I’ve had a lot of wine and taken lots of low quality pictures, but just can’t seem to get around to actually churning out my typical award wining wine prose.  

During a quick weekend getaway with the in-laws in Orlando a few weeks ago, I stopped by the Orlando Total Wine to grab these three bottles of Rose for a taste off.  To pair with the sweltering Orlando summer heat and La Vie En Rose, I selected three Roses from different parts of the world – Tavel, Napa, and South Africa.

Orlando Rose Taste Off

Elizabeth Rose 2008 Rose   $17.99.  From Napa.  Light red color, although it looks much darker due to my amateur photography skills and my POS camera.  A blend of 93% Syrah and 7% Zinfandel.  Alcohol 13%.   A great nose of sweet watermelon candy, raspberry, and light cherry aromas.  In the mouth, I got pronounced flavors of watermelon, strawberry, lime zest with a lengthy red fruit finish.  Would have been great with spicy Thai take out.

Les Vignes des Precheurs 2008 Tavel  $16.99. From Tavel in southern Rhone.  Typical watermelon and strawberry nose – about the same in the mouth.  Expected more of the mineral notes that I’ve come to expect from Tavel Roses. 

Mulderbosch 2008 Rose   $12.99.  From Stellenbosch, South Africa.  Made from Cabernet Sauvignon.  Nose of cherry and tart citrus that led to flavors of sour cherry.  One aspect of this wine that I enjoyed was the crispness in the mouth.  My least favorite of the trio.

The favorite of the night was the Elizabeth Rose Rose.  I had higher expectations for the Les Vignes des Precheurs.  The Mulderbosch finished a very distant third, and bordered on blech!

_________________________________