Tags

, , ,

I spent part of this week in Fairfax, VA which included a stop at Whole Foods after work for an over priced meal to go and a bottle of fermented grape juice.

Man PinotJonesing for something different for the evening, I went with a Pinot Noir from Austria – the Meinklang 2007 Pinot Noir.  I believe this my first Pinot from Austria (that I can remember).  Meinklang winery is located in the Burgenland region of Austria, between Lake Neusiedl and Hungary.  Meinklang is Demeter Biodynamic certified and uses only wild (naturally occurring) yeasts for fermentation.  At just $14.99 I considered this a bargain for an organic Pinot Noir.

Meinklang 2007 Pinot Noir:   Dark ruby in color similar to some of those over extracted California Pinots.   When I first opened this bottle on Tuesday night, the nose was dominated by cinnamon and red fruit that led to flavors of strawberry.  A simple effort.  Tonight (Thursday) the wine showed more life – with a more complex nose of spice, cherry, earth and a gamey meat aroma.  Ok balance, mild tannins.  In the mouth, I got cherry and cranberry flavors.  Short finish.

I feel this wine would have showed better paired with pork chops or salmon instead of a salad and cranberry food bar.

FaceBook Logo

facebook me!

_____________________________