Tags

, , , ,

My wife and I spent the last few days in Orlando for a short vacation.  Mother-in-law rented a house and was kind enough to invite us to join the rest of the family for a break from work.  Given the fact that my wife’s three sisters, their husbands and kids would all be there, I stopped at Total Wine in Orlando to stock up to ensure that I made in through the weekend.

One of the wines I was most looking Belle Valle Pinotforward to trying was the Belle Valle Pinot Noir that I picked up based on the recommendation from the sales clerk girl.

Belle Vallée (Beautiful Valley) Cellars is located in downtown Corvallis in Oregon’s Willamette Valley of Oregon.  Belle Valle sources fruit from 18 different vineyards in Oregon and currently produces just fewer than 20,000 cases annually.

Belle Valle Pinot Noir, $37.99

Interesting label art.  14.% alcohol.  ~ 1,000 cases produced.  A bit heavier/ extracted than I expect from an Oregon Pinot.  Some of the grapes used in this juice came from biodynamic Momtazi vineyard.  Cherry cola and dark berries on the nose that leads to a smooth mouth feel complemented by tastes of more dark berries, plum and earth with hints of blueberry lingering on the finish. 

Although I believe this is a 100% pinot (70% Pommard from Alpine Vineyard, 30% 113 clone from Momtazi), seems like syrah may have been blended in. 

FaceBook Logo On Facebook?   Facebook me:    www.facebook.com/frank.j.morgan

 ____________________________