Tags

, ,

No, not the one associated with that Darwin guy…  Sokol Blosser’s Evolution.

Evo Cork

I can’t believe I’ve had this blog, well almost blog, for a year now and haven’t written about Evolution until now.  This has been one of my ‘just drink and enjoy’ go to wines for quite a while.  Overall… Evolution is an ‘any night of the week’ wine that plays well with a wide range of food.  We paired this with spicy chicken fajitas last night and the combo was perfect.   

Sokol Blosser is based in Dundee, Oregon in the Willamette Valley area, was founded by Bill Blosser and Susan Sokol Blosser.  The couple planted their first vines in 1971, and their estate vineyards received USDA organic certification from Oregon Tilth in 2005.  (Since grapes to make Evolution are sourced from multiple locations including California and Washington, the wine is not organic.)

EvolutionSokol Blosser Evolution –  I picked this up for ~ $14US at Lets Talk Wine in Chesapeake.  12% alcohol.  The Evolution blend contains nine varietals – Pinot Gris, Müller-Thurgau, White Riesling, Semillon, Muscat Canelli, Gewürztraminer, Pinot Blanc, Chardonnay, and Sylvaner.  Initially, the nose is on the lime green side and is followed by abundant citrus and peach aromas.  In the mouth, the acidity is lively, but not to sharp, with flavors of pear, grapefruit and apricot.  I noted a pronounced creamy component tonight, while finishing the bottle.

If you haven’t already tried Evolution, be sure to look for it at your local wine shop or restaurant.  This wine seems to have fairly wide distribution here in the US – I’ve noticed it on wine lists in many states including CA, NY, MD and DC.  My travels take me to the Bethesda and Gaithersburg, MD area at least monthly and I’ve noted Evolution being served by the glass is several restaurants including Red Rocks at the Washingtonian Center in Gaithersburg.

As much as I enjoy Evolution, this is the only Sokol Blosser offering I’ve had.  I will be in Oregon in August and plan to arrange a visit to the winery to taste the rest of their wines. 

Although Matthiasson White still has ‘Favorite Domestic White of the Year’ honors in my book, Sokol Blosser’s Evolution definitely ranks near the top of the list.

Be sure to look for Evolution near you, and check out their blog for winery happenings and updates.

___________________________