Tags

,

One of the many pleasant surprises I had in Australia was the number of great Shiraz Roses I tasted.  Until the trip I don’t believe I’ve ever had Rose made from the Shiraz grape.  During my trip, I tasted about 15 different Shiraz Roses and liked all of them.  Over the last couple of summers Roses have definitely grown on me resulting in a weird desire to drink them nearly every night. 

Summer skipped right over Spring this past weekend here in Virginia with temperatures reaching 90 degrees which seemed the perfect occasion for an evening on the deck with a Rose.  Although I did bring a couple back with me, I picked up this particular Shiraz Rose at Lets Talk Wine in Chesapeake for $12.99. 

Bon Bon is produced by R Wines, owned by Dan Philips and Chris Ringland, and imported by The Grateful Palate  (if wine isn’t enough for you The Grateful Palate also has a bacon of the month club as well)

Bon Bon 2008 Shiraz Rose - nearly finished this before I thought to grab the camera.

Bon Bon 2008 Shiraz Rose - nearly finished this before I thought to grab the camera.

Bon Bon 2008 Shiraz Rose

100% shiraz.  13.9% alcohol.  Watermelon color.  The grapes for this particular wine were actually picked to be made into a rose.  This is a very fresh rose and a perfect sipper for warm evenings.  The nose was full of raspberries, strawberries and a slight lime zest aroma.  Light mouth feel.  The mouth was straightforward with more strawberries and watermelon taste with cherry on the finish.

I believe Bon Bon has wide distribution here in the US so this Rose be easily found.  This is a perfect summer evening wine to sip after a long day!

_____________________________