Tags

, ,

True to form, I have a large backlog of postings for my visit to Australia.  Last week I stopped in to Cork Wine Bar in downtown Adelaide in the hopes of finding a local gem.  After sampling several of the local offerings from the Adelaide Hills area, I settled on a couple of glasses of the Golding 2004 Pinot Noir.

I’m not sure if the climate in the Adelaide Hills is ideally suited for growing world class Pinot Noir, but one thing is for sure – Pinot is a growing trend in the area.  According to several wine makers and wine bar owners I spoke to, many are excited about the potential of producing world class Pinot Noir in Australia. 

pinot-at-cork-wine-barGolding John Francis 2004 Pinot Noir

Purple color, reminiscent of Napa Pinots.  Screw cap closure.  13.9% alcohol.  Very lively nose of plum, baking spice, raspberry, earth and light wood.  Light tannins with smooth mouth feel and tastes of fresh raspberry and cherry.  This particular wine spent 16 months in oak, but was very well balanced.  Had I purchased a bottle of this, decanting for an hour or two would have allowed this wine to really open up.

A solid effort for an Adelaide Hills Pinot Noir – will be keeping an eye on the Pinots form Australia (sounds weird to say that, I know).  If anyone else has had experience with Australian Pinot Noirs, I’m interesting in hearing your thoughts.

If you’re ever in the Adelaide, Australia area, stop in to Cork Wine Bar on Goucher Street.  Wes, the owner, is a hospitable fellow who is more than willing to talk wine with anyone who stops by.

 cork-wine-bar-outside1

cork-wine-bar-inside

____________________________

