Tags

,

I was in the DC area last week and stopped by the Whole Foods in Fairfax for the weekly Wednesday tasting.  I learned about the Wednesday night tastings from fellow blogger, Dezel of My Vine Spot.  The theme for the week was Red and White Burgundy which featured two whites and four red burgundies.  My favorite of the night…

Armelle et Bernard Rion Clos de Vougeot Grand Cru 2005

From the Cote de Nuits in Burgundy.  I believe this wine retails for roughly $110/bottle.  Dark red color – darker than expected for a Burgundy.  Very fresh on the nose – cherry and raspberry aromas along with a mineral component.  Lively tannins and red fruit in the mouth and a metallic finish.        

wholefoods

If you’re in the Fairfax, VA area, be sure stop by the WholeFoods Fair Lakes on Wednesday night for their tasting.

_____________________________