Tags

, , ,

I spent last week in the Orlando area and had the occasion to visit The Wine Room – by chance, I was in Winter Park to meet work friends for dinner at Luma and happened to pass by the window and noticed all of the Enomatics.  This wine utopia offers over 150 wines by the glass, dispensed by Enomatic machines in 1, 2 ½ or 5 ounce pours.  This type of tasting environment provides a great opportunity to taste a wide range of wines,  including some expensive stuff that I may not have otherwise bought by the bottle.  Wine is dispensed automatically from the Enomatic machines and is paid for with pre-paid wine cards that you purchase at the front desk.nicklesmall1

I put $50 on my Enomatic card and ran around the place like a kid at Toy-R-Us on a shopping spree.

My first stop was at the Cabernet station to try the Far Niente Cab.  This wine is about $120 by the bottle, but only $14 per taste.  Far Niente 2005 Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley is a blend of 91% Cabernet Sauvignon, 5% Cabernet Franc and 4% Petit Verdot.  Big wine.  Dark jammy fruit and dark chocolate on the nose with a heavy mouth feel with tastes of dark berries.

etude1I then moved on to the Etude 2005 Cabernet Sauvignon which runs about $100/bottle, or $10 per taste.  Sourced from vineyards across various sub-appellations across Napa – Rutherford, St. Helena and Oakville.  Very complex, stellar wine.  On the nose I found dark berry, spice, earth and slight hints of mint.  Strong tannins, but not overpowering with a strong tobacco taste along with licorice and baked plums.  I ended up having two glasses of this one.  This would make a great ‘special occasion steak night’ wine. 

The final taste of the night was an Oregon Pinot Noir taste off between Witness Tree 2006 Pinot Noir and Lemelson 2006 Thea’s Selection Pinot Noir.  Both were pinkish purple in color.  The Witness Tree nose had raspberry and an unripe vegetal component on the nose.  Well balanced.  In the mouth, tastes of cherry, earth and more of that same raspberry.  The Lemelson had a nose of mocha, bright red fruit, dust and cinnamon.  Soft tannins along with bright fruit tastes.  Both of these were good and roughly around the same price per taste ($4.50), but I personally preferred the Lemelson.pinot-tasteoff1

Of all the wines I tried, the Etude Cab definitely stole the show…

Tacky Alert…  I should preface this next sentence by saying that I am totally happily married to my high school sweetheart and could never imagine my life without her (and never do have thoughts of being single of course)… but if I were a single dude living in the Orlando area I would set up camp at The Wine Room nightly – the place was full of cosmopolitan, professional hotties – it was an oasis!

The next time you’re in the Orlando area, be sure to drive over to Winter Park and visit The Wine Room. 

wineroom1 

 ________________________________