Tags

, , ,

Spring has returned, at least temporarily, to Southern Virginia brining perfect 70 degree sunny weather.  Warm weather calls for crisp whites… and one of the wines I’ve wanted to try for a while is the The Climber White Wine made by Clif Family Winery and Farm, makers of CLIF Bar and LUNA Bar.  I’ve noticed this particular wine reviewed by several of my fellow bloggers (good grief, did I miss the sample delivery?), so I added this one to my wine watch list late last year and picked up a bottle recently at Bon Vivant during a tasting.

clifbarClif Bar Family Winery – 2006 The Climber White Wine

The 2006 White marked the company’s transition to organic sourcing –  A  blend of 80% organic Sauvignon Blanc, 12% Semillon, 6% Viognier and 2% Chenin Blanc.  ~ $14/bottle.  14.2% alcohol.  Only 1,250 cases of the 2006 produced.  Pale yellow gold color with notes of peach, apricot and melon along with tastes of sweet apricot (almost too sweet) and a nice crispness. 

I would rate this ‘ok’ in my book – I didn’t finish it wishing I had another bottle.  This is an ok, very reasonably priced white that makes a great sipper.

 

_____________________________