Tags

On flight to Hong Kong… taking advantage of some of the new wine offerings available on board.  United’s current international on-flight3wine selections are chosen in consultation with wine writer and consultant, Doug Frost.  Picking wine for an airline sounds like a great gig if you can get it.

Upon boarding I was offered a glass of Piper-Heidsieck Brut NV Champagne to sip on during the boarding process.  I found this Champagne very bland and to the too dry side of dry.  I had two glasses just to make sure that I the first glass didn’t come from a bad bottle – nope, wasn’t good to me, so I won’t write too much more about this one other than to say United may want to consider a different Champagne offering (as an alternative they also offered the Mumm Cuvee Napa Brut NV which I did not try). 

Jaboulet Le Paradou 2006 Beaumes-de-Venise

This wine is a blend of 85% Grenache and 15% Syrah.  Paul Jaboulet is one of the largest producers in The Rhone and is available in the US for $21/bottle retail.  Purple color with aromas of dark fruit, pepper and earth – I also picked up a raspberry component after this had been sitting for a while.  Tastes of dark cherry, raspberry, spice and earth with mild tannic structure. 

Laboure-Roi Abbaye de Fontenay 2007 Montagny

This white burgundy is from Montagny, which is the ‘white grape only’ region of Burgundy (as the guy beside me says, “it’s all just Chardonnay”).  This wine was light golden color with a great nose of fresh green apple like the type you may pick at an orchard vice what you would buy in the store because of the earthy nuances of the apple along with pear on the nose.  In the mouth I picked up apple, creame and some hints of citrus on the finish.

On the return trip, I will try the US-based wine offerings.

___________________________