Tags

, , ,

My wife and I spent a few days in Sonoma last week which included a stop at Kaz Winery.  Kaz ‘s owner and namesake is the quirky and unique Richard Kasmier (aka – Kaz).   

kaz-01Kaz produces about 1,000 cases of wine annually.  In addition to small lots of great wine and cool labels, Kaz practices organic viticulture.  Like many smaller wineries, Kaz is a true family operation – during our visit was Mrs. Kaz, the son, and daughter-in-law were all working the tasting room and chatting with guests.  It was interesting to see how well the family worked so well together in managing the crowd in the tasting room.

We tasted through 13 wines during our visit – 1 rose, 8 reds, 4 ports.  Below are tasting notes for a few of the notables that we tasted and took home:

Trixi’s Secret 2007 Nebbiolo Rosa – A rose made from the Nebbiolo grape.  Light pink color with definite strawberry and watermelon aromas with hints of Tang (that orange drink from back in the day when mullets were cool).

Hooligans 2006 Grenache – Red in color with currant jam and black berries complemented by an earthy leather taste.

Spar 2003 Zinfandel – Dark purple color with raspberry, ripe cherry with hints of spice and slight pepper on the finish.

kaz-021Outbound 2005 Cabernet Franc – This one was my favorite of the tasting.  I opened a bottle last night in the hotel to pair with my ‘lovely’ Marriott spicy Italian sausage pizza.  My tasting notes from our visit were different than last night – I noted a lot more earthy components when I first tasted this at the winery.  Red brick color with ruby red edges.  This wine smelled exactly like vanilla cherry cheesecake with a very smooth mouth feel.  In the mouth the tannins were subdued along with tastes of dark berries, cherry and hints of cedar.

I would definitely add a visit to Kaz during your next trip to Sonoma (Valley of the Moon, Kenwood area) for a unique and fun tasting experience.   Or, you can always listen to Kaz on Wine Biz Radio.  I even told Kaz that I loved the radio show in hopes of flattering him enough for two free tastings – it worked! 

Unfortunately my photographer was busy tasting and not taking photos so I don’t have any others for this post.