Tags

,

January marks the 53rd installment of Wine Blogging Wednesday – a monthly online tasting/gathering of wine bloggers started by Len of Lenndevours.  This month’s Wine Blogging Wednesday is hosted by El Bloggo Torcido (El Jefe of Twisted Oak winery) – and the theme for this month’s WBW is wine for breakfast (or, wine that goes with breakfast foods, which ever you prefer). 

I personally opted for the ‘wine with breakfast foods for dinner option’ since my wife tends to frown on me drinking for breakfast.  Luckily, breakfast for dinner is one of my favorite meals so I was looking forward to trying a new breakfast dish and wine for this month’s WBW.  We decided on baked chorizo, egg and potato dish for our breakfast for dinner meal.  Wifey cooked while I coached/supervised/watched and opened the wine.

wbw532

The Spanish origins of chorizo definitely called for a Spanish red like Tempranillo.  Even better is the fact that Tempranillo seems to be the perfect complement to spicy dishes – especially spicy chorizo.

Volver 2005 Tempranillo

I picked this up for $15.99 at Let’s Talk Wine in Chesapeake.  Real cork closure.  100% Tempranillo.  Purple in color with pungent vanilla aromas along with cherry, cassis, dust and dark blackberry.  Firm tannins complemented by dark berry, more vanilla and hints of cranberry on the finish.  I enjoyed this wine and it paired perfectly with the chorizo dish, but I feel this one could have definitely benefited from a couple of hours in the decanter (of course I say that about nearly every wine that I have so what the heck do I know).   

El Jefe – thanks for a great WBW theme!  This will be a hard act to follow next month.    

______________________________