Tags

, ,

I’m in Denver this week for work so I stopped by Incredible Wine & Spirits in the Tech Center area to find a wine to pair with the several inches of snow that fell today and slowed the morning commute to a crawl.

For me, snow pairs well with big red comfort wines like Bordeaux, or, when the 2005 Bordeaux first growths are a few hundred dollars out of the price range, the Marramiero Inferi 2003 Montepulciano D’Abruzzo. 

inferi-2003I paired this with a bland Marriott baked cheese and spinach ravioli and it seemed to improve the baked ravioli.  

Marramiero Inferi 2003 Montepulciano D’Abruzzo

This wine spent two years in French and Slovenian oak barrels.  $29.99 at Incredible Wines in Denver.  14% alcohol.  I found this wine very interesting – it changed considerably within an hour of opening.  I took a quick shot directly from the bottle after opening and the first exhale nearly singed my nose hairs.  Deep ruby color complemented by a predominant rusty aroma along with dark cherry, leather, earth and blackberry.   Big ol tannins with vanilla, sour cherry and black berries.  Although I did like this wine, I found it hot for just 14% alcohol.   

I’m going to leave this bottle open tomorrow and try again after work to see how it opens up.   May report back if it’s worthy.

________________________________