Tags

,

ledrunk-rooster1I’ve had this bottle on hand since I attended a tasting at Grape & Gourmet hosted by Stephanie Bourgeois of Bourgeois Family Selections this summer.  I intended to open this one long before now, but other wines seemed to get in the way.  Finally, tonight’s dinner included Le Drunk Rooster Pinot Noir. 

Le Drunk Rooster, made from 20+ year-old sustainably farmed pinot noir vines from the Languedoc, is an interesting ‘old world’ treat.  $17.99 at the tasting.  Synthetic cork closure, aged in stainless steel.  Dark ruby color.  Took a look at my notes from the tasting from the summer, I noted a very pungent barnyard component on the nose – which I really liked.  I didn’t pick up that same barnyard component with this bottle (bummer) – instead I noted rubber band, fried food (like an egg roll) followed by cherry and blackberry with slight hints of spice.  Smooth mouth feel with muted tannins with that same rubber component, cherry and slight pepper on the palate.

To put in the ‘If I’m ever on Jeopoardy’ file… A little more than you ever wanted to know about French roosters…

The state bird of France is the rooster and our Le Drunk Rooster Chardonnay.  One of the national emblems of France, the Coq Gaulois (the Gallic Rooster) decorated French flags during the Revolution. It is the symbol of the French people because of the play on words of the Latin gallus meaning Gaul and gallus meaning coq, or rooster.  The rooster is used to symbolize vigilance as roosters are known to crow at the expectation of the sunrise.

_________________________________