Tags

Happy New Year!

To ring in the New Year, we started the evening at The Winehouse for dinner and watched the ball drop at home with a bottle of Duval-Leroy Brut Champagne

duval-leroyDuval-Leroy was established in 1859 and is located in Vertus, a village in the Cote des Blancs region.  Duval-Leroy remains a family-owned operation and is one of the largest land-owners in all of Champagne.

I picked up this bottle based on the recommendation of Ian, the owner of at Let’s Talk Wine.  $36/bottle.  A blend of 75% Pinot Noir and 25% Chardonnay.  Light golden in color with aromas of apple, a crisp lemon and lime zest similar to 7up along with toast and mineral.  The mouth was… well… very bubbly if that makes any sense, similar to drinking a warm 7up soda.  Dry finish with toast and lemon-lime zest.  I enjoyed this Champagne and will definitely have it again.

A quick word about 2008 and what’s coming in 2009…  Overall, 2008 was a great year for our family.  Aside from one setback, we made strides in nearly every area of our lives and for that I am grateful.  For me personally, I turned 35 and officially became ‘old.’  In 2008, I also ‘found’ wine blogs and developed quite an addiction to reading them.  I enjoyed reading about wine so much that I got a crazy idea that I should actually start a blog as a way to capture my thoughts on wine and take my wine education to the next level.  My wine related goals for 2009 include:

  • Redesign and move this site to WordPress and turn DrinkWhatYouLike in to an actual blog that resembles a real website vice something than a bored wino fobbed it together.
  • Attend the next Wine Bloggers Conference.
  • Expand friendships/contacts in the wine world.
  • Focus on learning more about biodynamic/natural wines.
  • Visit the Willamette Valley (and drink as much of their Pinot as possible).

Here’s to a happy, healthy and prosperous 2009!

_________________________________