Tags

, , , , ,

Indie Wine of the Week:  Collier Falls Zinfandel

One of my stops in Sonoma last weekend included a visit to Family Wineries  Tasting Room in Kenwood.  The Family Wineries Tasting Room is a collection of small, boutique wineries that do not have their own tasting room.  This stop provided an opportunity to taste through a wide selection of small production wines that I would not otherwise had the chance to taste.

The tasting room guide, Shaun, was very informative and well versed in each of the wineries and wines available.  Six wineries are represented at the tasting room:

Although I liked a handful of the wines I tasted, there was one definite standout…

Collier Falls 2004 Zinfandel Private Reserve –  We enjoyed this last night at our family holiday dinner.  1,100 cases made.  $30/bottle. 15.5% alcohol.   Dark brick color.  On the nose I got big ripe blackberry and blueberry aromas followed by black licorice, pepper and faint hints of strawberry and bacon fat.  The bacon fat surprised me because I didn’t have this in my notes from the morning that I initially tasted this particular wine.  This was a good surprise – added more character to the wine.  Dark berries, some spice and vanilla oakiness on the finish. 

collier-zin1 

family-wines-tasting-roomI picked up several other wines during the visit that I will write about as I open.  If you ever find yourself wandering through the Kenwood area, stop by the Family Wineries Tasting Room to try some of the better small productions wines in Sonoma area.

____________________________