Tags

,

I was fortunate enough to have a flight delay last night on my way through Philadelphia (PHL) so I stopped by the Vino Volo wine bar located in the main concourse between terminals C and B.  As I’ve written about previously, Vino Volo is the largest airport wine bar ‘chain’ in the U.S. and appears to be expanding quickly with a brand new location that just opened in the San Antonio airport and another new location about to open at the far end of the PHL airport next month.  To date, I believe I have visited every Vino Volo  with the exception of San Antonio and Newark.

I asked the wine bar tender to give me “something different.”  He poured the 2007 Writer’s Block Roussane.  This is the first time I’ve ever heard of the Writer’s Block brand so I was eager to try one of their newest wines.

vinovolo-phlWriter’s Block Roussane 2007 – $14/glass (just less than the cost of 1 bottle) – nice golden color.  Creamy mouth feel.  I found this wine very friendly with a floral nose along with heavy pear, pineapple and an oaky vanilla crème similar to a crème that you find in a crepe.  I found the acidity ‘smooth’ and well matched with the over ripe pears, vanilla and hints of spice on the palate.  Although I’m not sure how well a 100% Roussane from Lake County will age, I’m willing to bet that this wine would have been much better in a few years.  My only disappointment with this wine (aside from the $14/glass price) is the lack of mineral component – I wanted more mineral and stone in the wine.

The Writer’s Block brand is owned by Steele Wines located in Lake County, CA – the county directly north of Napa and east of Mendocino. 

______________________________