After four days of gorging on Thanksgiving food and leftovers, I’ve hit my tolerance level for turkey consumption.  My final turkey leftover was a turkey sandwich paired with Barefoot Chardonnay.

Although I’ve seen Barefoot wines in grocery stores, I’ve never paid them too much attention – subconsciously relegating Barefoot to the ranks of 2 Buck Chuck I guess – that is until I read about the story behind Barefoot wines at Mike Veseth’s Wine Economist blog .

barefoot-chardBarefoot Cellars is experiencing a significant rise in sales in the midst of the current economic downturn due to the fact that wine consumers are now ‘trading down’ to more economical wines.  What I find interesting about Barefoot is the fact that they spend no money on traditional advertising like many other wine brands and instead focus their marketing efforts on donating wines to local non-profit organizations for use at various events.  According to the article, Barefoot wines will be poured at more than 3,000 non-profit events this year which allows consumers to ‘discover’ Barefoot wines rather than being ‘marketed’ to – clever grass roots approach.  

Barefoot is currently the most awarded winery in US wine competitions for under $15 wines.  Part of their branding strategy is to affix medallion stickers of various awards to the bottles with the intent of providing the average wine buyer with the added confidence that this particular wine has been positively recognized by wine critics.

Although I make every attempt to purchase my wine at small, locally-owned wine shops in my area and in my travels I had to resort to buying this Barefoot Chardonnay at the grocery store for $6.49.

Barefoot Chardonnay – synthetic cork closure – pale yellow color.  A simple wine.  On the nose I got citrus and unripe apple as well as slight hints of vanilla.  Light tannins and more lemon and vanilla on the palate.  I guess for 6 bucks you can’t go wrong with this wine.

Hat tip to Mike for another informative article.

______________________________