Tags

,

So… we didn’t have any big plans on election night… and, when in doubt participate in a wine tasting of some sort.  I decided to purchase a ‘Secret Election Pack’ offered by Gary Vaynerchuk’s Wine Library to open on election night.  This is a first for me. 

The general idea behind the election pack is to offer wines to a large number of people and gather friends around and taste the wines along with Vaynerchuck (does that seem odd?).

The Secret Election Pack was $75.99 and included the following three wines:

  • 2004 Thunder Cuvee
  • 2006 Anwilka
  • 2007 Hortus La Bergerie Blanc

The election pack episode of Wine Library can be viewed at http://tv.winelibrary.com/2008/11/04/the-election-day-secret-pack-episode-570 

thunder-cuvee2004 Thunder Cuvee Napa Valley Red

I opened the Thunder Cuvee the night before the election since there was no way my wife and I would be able to finish three bottles in one night and make an early morning flight on Wednesday.   Blend of Napa fruit, 48% Merlot, 34% Sangiovesse, 5% Syrah and 3% Cabernet Sauvignon.  Basic dark fruit on the nose including currants and mulberry along with some dust.  Simple tannins and dark fruit in the mouth.  No thunder for me with this wine. 

 

 

 

hortus2007 Hortus La Bergerie Blanc

This is definitely a new wine for me.  Interesting blend of 30% Chardonnay, 30% Roussanne, 30% Sauvignon Blanc and 10% Viognier.  Golden yellow color.  This is a busy wine – on the nose I picked up honeysuckle, tropical flowers and strong lemon aromas.  Great acidity and mouth feel (silky-ish).  I believe Wine Library sells this for $14.98.  Very interesting wine for $15.

 

 

 

 

anwilka12006 Anwilka

Really liked this wine.  A blend of 66% Cabernet Savignon, 29% Shiraz and 5% Merlot.  Deep dark purple color.  Big chocolate and vanilla on the nose complimented by dark plum, blackberries and old garage aromas.  I left this one open for a while and the vanilla aroma wafted from the bottle each time I stopped by for a sniff.  Strong tannins that were matched by the dark chocolate and blackberries in the mouth.  Listed at Wine Library for $38.98.

This was an interesting selection of wines coupled with a unique experience of tasting wines while watching another person also drink the wines online.  After I did it, I wasn’t sure why I participated in this election day wine experience.

_____________________________