Tags

Last night consisted of watching the World Series and drinking Greek Wine (not sure of the correlation) at the hotel.  Congratulations to the Phillies.   Reminds me of the saying… “even a blind squirrel finds a nut every now and then…”

Since I was in an ‘I want something different mood’  last night, I went with a Greek Wine – and was pleasantly surprised.  This was the first ‘good’ Greek wine that I can remember drinking.  I found this Papantonis Meden Agan for $18.99 at Arrowine in Arlington, VA. 

Papantonis Meden Agan

Made with the agiorgitiko grape and grown in the Nemea region of Greece.  Dark purple/ruby color.  Initially, this wine reminded me of many Virginia Norton wines.  The nose starts with tart cherries and cranberry aromas.  Once this one opened up, I picked up dark currant/raisin and tobacco component.  Strong tannins – needs food, not for sipping alone unless one decants for a while.   Tart cherry dominated the (short) finish.

 

Meden Agan – The name of the wine stems from the well known ancient Greek motto at the Oracle of Delphi meaning ‘nothing in excess’Meden Agan is derived from the word ‘meden’ (meaning ‘zero, nothing’) and the adverb ‘agan’ (translates to ‘excessively’).

Meden Agan and Gnothi Sauton (know thyself), the two maxims carved on the walls of the temple of Apollo at the Oracle, were the fundamental principles of the ancient Greek spirit.

 

__________________________