Tags

,

Tonight’s dinner included braised pork tacos with tomatillo-avocado slaw paired with the Callejo Crianza 2005.  The tacos were great, and the Callejo was great, but I’m not sure if this was the best pairing.  The tacos may have paired better with a spicy Zin. 

I picked up this gem at a Wine Guild tasting at Bon Vivant for $31.  Felix Callejo is based in the Ribera del Duero region of Spain.  No pesticides or chemical fertilizers are used at the Callejo Estate.  

I must admit that I’m not a big tempranillo drinker so I took a peak at some of the scores (WS – 93, WA – 91) for this wine to see how it stacked up.  Given the high scores and praise this wine has received I’ve been waiting to open this one for several months.

100% tempranillo.  Deep dark purple color.  Great nose of dark fruit – blueberry, dark blackberry, ripe plum and cocoa dust which seemed tucked under the fruit.  At this point, I am a total wine neophyte and am in the early stages of my wine education (this blog being part of the education process) and am glad I opened this wine because it provided a great lesson in aroma ‘layers.’  The blueberry was the first to jump out of the glass, followed by the dark blackberries and ripe plums which seemed to hide cocoa powder.  Very interesting (for me).  The tannins were as ripe as the fruit.  Lots of dark fruit in the mouth balanced well with the tannins.

As far as tempranillos go, I feel the Callejo Crianza is a great one!

_____________________________