Tags

, , ,

Last night I got together with several colleagues in Maryland for a ‘bring your favorite wine from your home state’ gathering.  Wines from Washington State, Napa, New York and Virginia were represented.

For the evening, I chose the 2005 Linden Hardscrabble made by the remarkable Jim Law.  Hardscrabble, is a single-vineyard blend of 73% Cabernet Sauvignon, 15% Petit Verdot, 8% Merlot and 4% Cabernet Franc.  Linden Vineyards is located in Linden, Virginia, produces about 5,000 cases annually.  Linden wines are distributed at a limited number of retail wine shops so I picked up this Hardscrabble at Arrowine in Arlington, VA for $37.99 while I was in town.  There were just 350 cases of this wine produced.

 

Again, my photography skills are lacking and the poor lighting in the concierge lounge at the Marriott didn’t help.  (a review of the McManis Petit Syrah in the background is forthcoming) 

On the nose I found an abundance of dark fruit including currant and plum along with cedar and dust.  On the front end I picked up very ripe dark fruit components.  The mouth feel was solid which set me up for the expectation of a strong finish.  Unfortunately the finish on this wine was non-existent.  Several others in the group also commented about the finish (or lack of).  I have a huge amount of respect for the wines Jim Law produces and the role he has played in the Virginia Wine Industry, but I do expect more back-end character for a $37 wine.  I’m going to rack this up to this particular batch and will try another bottle soon.

____________________________