Tags

,

The Inaugural Post

June 29, 2008, 9:58pm
Chesapeake, VA

So I’ve started a wine blog…  add another one to the thousands of other wine related blogs out there.

On Selfishness and Disorganization…
For me, this blog is a bit of a selfish endeavor.  My primary goal is to finally bring order to my wine experiences and to chronicle these experiences in an organized manner.  To date, my tasting notes have consisted of a pile of sticky notes, scrap papers and thoughts floating around my head.  This blog will also serve as a place to capture my wine ramblings, rants and observations that I have nearly all the time… they seem totally awesome and profound when they pop in to my head, but not so much when I try to remember them later…  so hopefully this blog will provide an outlet for me to document these incredible insights that I have for future reference.

On Drinking Other Peoples Expensive Wines…
I guess my secondary expectation for setting up this blog is to meet other wine lovers, winos and wine bloggers.  The wine blogging community seems to be growing exponentially and it would be great to meet other like minded wine drinkers (and share in drinking their expensive wines – so, if there are any bloggers specializing in La Tache out there, we should probably plan to get together soon).  Seriously, I hope to learn from other winos.

On Having No Creativity…
The name… ‘DrinkWhatYouLike.com’… brilliant, I know.  This was my 500th choice as all of the other bloggers who got this blogging thing early on took every other conceivable name with the words wine, juice, vine, drunk, grape, wino, etc.  The name does have some meaning to me as I tend to drink what I like without regard for the wine critics, pundits and score-hounds (score-whore rhymes, but would be inappropriate here).  I pretty much drink Oregon Pinot Noir or Syrah with everything – steak, tacos, fish, cheez-whiz, peanut butter & jelly, fried food, M&Ms, sushi, rice cakes, what ever.  I tend to drink what I like with whatever food I like – so that is the genius behind the name.  Admittedly, I do take a peek at Parker, Wine Spectator, Jancis Robinson and Tanzer scores once I have formed my own opinion.  It is interesting to see how my preferences differ from many of the ‘gurus.’

On Crap No One Cares About…
My background… for the last 11 years I have spent my days (and many nights and weekends) working for one of the world’s largest aerospace companies.  By night I have become a complete wine dork.  My wine dorkdom seems to have increased over the last few years as I have averaged about 45 weeks a year on travel which has provided a lot of time for drinking wine and contemplating the grapes’ place in the world.  Aside from the loneliness of the nomadic travelers life, I have benefited from an abundance of wine experiences across the US and the world.  The upside of constant travel is the time I am able to spend learning and drinking in many different wine bars and tasting rooms gaining many different layers of perspective.  For a while, it seemed as if the only constant in my life was the experience of learning about and trying new wines each night at different wine bars and spending most of my time on planes (which is a lot) reading about wine.  These travel experiences have carried over in to my life outside of work in that most of my weekends are spent visit wineries, wine tastings and learning all I can about the grape juice.    Yada yada… a lot more in between… but here I am.

On Wine Philosophy…
I wish my ‘what got me in to wine’ story was an exciting or romantic tale … or somehow based on a spiritual experience as a result of a bottle of ’82 Lafite-Rothschild or ’47 Cheval Blanc… unfortunately for me, not so much.  My ‘what got me in to wine’ story is simple and pedestrian – I just like drinking and beer gives me gas so I chose wine.  (This was one of those thoughts that seemed so much funnier in my head, but doesn’t seem as funny in written form.) Actually, there was no one crystallizing moment for me, rather, there was a gradual series of events that seem to have snuck up on me.

On My Opinions…
I will drink any wine… once!  My personal preference is to drink/enjoy/talk about ‘natural’ wines – wherein ‘natural’ being defined as getting a strong sense of terroir in the glass – allowing much of the work to be done by mother nature vice some clever winemaker’s science experiment in the lab (sometimes called a cellar).  I am drawn to traditionally crafted wines made with minimal (or no) manipulation that are earthy, real and true to their place.  I have a strong interest in biodynamic viticulture and the resulting wines.  I realize some parts of biodynamic farming seem to be kooky and a perhaps on the fringe, but I truly believe there is something serving the land.  I believe wineries should be good stewards of the land they’ve been blessed with and should honor their ‘place.’  Although I can not always tell a difference in wines that are produced under organic or biodynamic (OB) conditions, there are OB wines that do in fact stand out by way of the purity of their fruit and the strong ‘sense of place’ they impart.  I’m sure there are many who disagree with me on this subject, but that’s ok, I’m  certain they’ve been wrong about other things as well.

On The End…

Ok, so that’s my story!