Tags

, ,

dooker-1

Well, this past Christmas, my mother-in-law moved way up my likeability scale when she gave me several bottles of ‘good’ wine including this Molly Dooker Blue Eyed Boy and a Ramey Chardonnay.  I’ve held off opening these bottles for a somewhat special occasion… and I can’t think of a better time to open this Aussie Shiraz than now… to get my palate prepped for my upcoming trip to Australia in a few days.

Molly Dooker Blue Eyed Boy Shiraz 2007

Fruta muy grande!  Real cork closure.  The label noted 16.5% alcohol, but I have no doubt that this one is closer to 18% alcohol.  ~$50/bottle.  Deep dark inky purple color.  Huge nose of blueberry, baked blackberries, very pungent prune, cedar and a creamy vanilla.  The mouth was equally bombastic – loads of dark fruit jam and too much wood.  My first taste made me wonder if they spiked this wine with blueberry and prune concentrate.  The finish was dominated by a grape cough syrup and oak taste.  I really had difficulty finishing two glasses of this one – drinking it was uncomfortable.   At roughly $50/bottle, I really expected more – or actually less.  Overpowering in every respect.

I broke out the big ass glass for this... ?

I broke out the big ass glass for this… ?

I’ve had many Shiraz’s in my day, and have historically paired them with bison burgers (not sure why), or when I needed to add more dark fruit to my diet.  Rather than a great burger pairing, this Dooker seemed more inclined to be spread on my morning toast, or as a stand alone fruit smoothie.

After tasting and being so bleeeeck about Molly I searched the net to get other’s perspective on this particular jammy ‘jewel.’  The Wine Spectator scored this one 92 points and Jay Miller scored this one 95 points (not surprised).  Many other bloggers rated the 2007 Molly Dooker Blue Eyed Boy with reasonably good reviews (here, here, and GV here).  Guess I’m the odd man out on this one (again)…

I’ve only written a couple of not so positive reviews on this blog, and each time the PR person from that winery has contacted me with the offer of a new bottle to retaste (which I’m grateful for).  In this case, I doubt anyone from Molly Dooker is going to find this little blog, but I actually hope they do – especially since I’m heading to Australia in a few days and would love to stop by for a retaste and better perspective of Molly Dooker wines.

I’m going to leave this one to sit for a couple of days and come back to it to retaste…

___________________________

