Tags

, , , , ,

My flight out of DFW this evening was delayed which gave me the opportunity to spend some time at the La Bodega Wine Bar in the D international terminal (there is also a La Bodega location in terminal A).

 

I started with the ‘house’ white, La Bodega Reserve Chardonnay 2005.  13% alcohol.  Pale straw color.  The nose was filled with fresh tropical fruit aromas and butter.  In the mouth I tasted wet straw which is consistent with a similar taste I’ve experienced with a Texas Sauvignon Blanc I had here at La Bodega a few months ago.  I liked the tropical fruit finish on this one.

 

 

 

  

 

 

 I finished my visit to La Bodega with two reds recommended by Harrison, the Wineologist on duty (seriously, that was the title on his name tag).

 

 

Becker Vineyards 2005 Cabernet Sauvignon Reserve

14.4% alcohol.  Ruby purple color.  On the nose I found baked blackberry, dark currant and plum aromas.  This wine really made me want a blackberry or blueberry pie.  More dark fruits in the mouth as well as some cedar.  The finish was a bit ‘hot’ which leads me to believe that this wine is north of the 14.4% alcohol stated on the label.  Not much else on the finish.  ~ $24.95/bottle.

 

Viviano Superiore Rosso 

This win is made by Llano Estacado winery located near Lubbock, TX.  Texas version of the ‘Super Tuscan.’   13.5% alcohol.  Ruby/brackish color.  A blend of 71% cabernet sauvignon and 29% sangiovese.   On the nose I immediately picked up a metallic component almost like rusty nail as well as slight herbal and sour cherry aromas.  The sour cherry component was prominent in the mouth with weak tannins. ~ $39.99/bottle.

 

On my next trip to Texas in December I plan on visiting several wineries to learn more about Texas wines.  If you’ve never tried Texas wines, pick one up at to expand your tasting experiences.

____________________________

